Page 1 of 1

Mechanical Speedo in 01e

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 1:55 pm
by Hank
Credit goes to Marc

Image


the 01e uses an electric speedo that uses magnets to trigger an electric sender, while the 016 uses mechanical gear teeth to drive the speedometer.
Image

Image

016 passenger cv, showing speedo drive teeth location
Image

Image

the rings in the photos are a direct swap. some light machine work is necessary to fit the coupler into the side case.
Image

photo showing m18x1.5 thread on the 016 mechanical speedo
Image

01e with 016 mechanical speedo gear installed
Image


01e side case with retrofitted 016 mechanical speedo
It is possible to swap the 016 mechanical speedo into the 01e. the "drive gear" is the same dimensions between the two. M18x1.5 threads need to be tapped into the housing for the sender to screw in, and the upper bore of the through-hole needs to be increased in size slightly (down to a depth of 1/4" or so).
Image

Thanks Marc for the pictures. Hope this helps some URQs and 4000s!

Re: Mechanical Speedo in 01e

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 2:59 pm
by jretal
Do you mean you have to drill out in order to tap? Or after you tap so that the hex portion can sit squarely on the housing?

Also, is there any special fixture or anything that you need to set this up so you tap the hole straight? That's my only fear in doing this when we do the 01E conversion on our UrQ.

Re: Mechanical Speedo in 01e

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 3:13 pm
by glibobbo21
;) we didnt use a fixture, calibrated eyeball.

Re: Mechanical Speedo in 01e

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 8:49 am
by Audiurq
I did this on my 01E swap except I haven't drilled out the upper bore, as you recommend down ~1/4 inch. It works as is but
to my calibrated hand it is not smooth and seems to be binding slightly. Drilling out the upper bore may cure this slight binding?

cheers, Mike

Re: Mechanical Speedo in 01e

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:41 am
by glibobbo21
Use copper washers to space it out, its probably threaded in too far. IIRC Thats what we ended up doing at Marcs

Re: Mechanical Speedo in 01e

PostPosted: Thu Apr 04, 2013 10:44 am
by Zerb
Cool stuff! I was contemplating doing this on my 01E in my 90 with the Autometer Speedometer that i have in there and somehow hopefully getting it to work properly. But i stumbled across a GPS module autometer sells for their speedos and to avoid headaches i decided that route.

Re: Mechanical Speedo in 01e

PostPosted: Thu Apr 04, 2013 12:38 pm
by Hank
Share the said GPS module, that sound cool

Re: Mechanical Speedo in 01e

PostPosted: Thu Apr 04, 2013 1:21 pm
by Zerb
http://www.autometer.com/media_newsarti ... =3&aid=124

only thing i was wishing it had was a 0-5v signal output wire that you could then run into an ecu for boost vs speed and stuff like that. because regardless of you baking tire or not, the gps will only obviously say youre going XXmph, kinda like how they setup the rear wheel ABS on the big FWD cars to do boost vs speed. the rear wheels are a constant speed. i suppose you should be able to run the above wire i was talking about from the speedo output though.

Re: Mechanical Speedo in 01e

PostPosted: Thu Apr 04, 2013 5:54 pm
by 85oceanic
This thread came just in time. It should be stickied!